Everything To Know About Florida Property Taxes

Everything To Know About Florida Property Taxes

This article explains everything you need to know about when property taxes are due in Florida, how much they are, and some ways to lower your property tax bill.

Florida has lower property taxes than many other states. How much you’ll owe depends on where you live in Florida, the value of your property, any exemptions you qualify for, and when you make your payment.

When Are Property Taxes Due in Florida?

Property taxes in Florida are county-wide, not state-wide. However, the due dates are standard across the state. You can pay your property tax bill anytime from November 1 to March 31. Payments made on April 1 or afterward are considered delinquent and may be subject to late fees or penalties.

How Much are Property Taxes in Florida?

Property taxes in Florida vary from county to county. However, the average effective property tax rate in Florida is 0.91 percent. That’s paid as a percentage of the home’s value. For comparison, the average effective property tax rate in the United States is 1.08 percent.

Florida Property Taxes by County

Each county sets its own effective property tax rate. It can change from year to year. The county with the lowest effective property tax rate in Florida is Walton County. The Florida county with the highest effective tax rate is Okeechobee County. Palm Beach has an effective property tax rate of 1.12 percent.

County Average Effective Property Tax Rate
Alachua 1.18%
Baker 0.78%
Bay 0.69%
Bradford 0.84%
Brevard 0.90%
Broward 1.12%
Calhoun 0.65%
Charlotte 1.03%
Citrus 0.80%
Clay 0.87%
Collier 0.71%
Columbia 1.02%
DeSoto 1.21%
Dixie 0.76%
Duval 0.97%
Escambia 0.79%
Flagler 0.92%
Franklin 0.67%
Gadsden 0.85%
Gilchrist 0.79%
Glades 1.06%
Gulf 0.59%
Hamilton 0.97%
Hardee 1.04%
Hendry 1.23%
Hernando 0.91%
Highlands 0.96%
Hillsborough 1.02%
Holmes 0.62%
Indian River 0.86%
Jackson 0.61%
Jefferson 0.86%
Lafayette 0.79%
Lake 0.95%
Lee 0.97%
Leon 0.99%
Levy 0.84%
Liberty 0.92%
Madison 0.88%
Manatee 0.93%
Marion 0.99%
Martin 0.98%
Miami-Dade 1.04%
Monroe 0.69%
Nassau 0.85%
Okaloosa 0.72%
Okeechobee 1.26%
Orange 1.01%
Osceola 0.91%
Palm Beach 1.12%
Pasco 0.96%
Pinellas 0.94%
Polk 0.91%
Putnam 1.10%
Santa Rosa 0.97%
Sarasota 1.23%
Seminole 0.76%
St. Johns 0.88%
St. Lucie 0.94%
Sumter 0.94%
Suwannee 0.98%
Taylor 0.90%
Union 0.88%
Volusia 0.98%
Wakulla 0.79%
Walton 0.54%
Washington 0.68%

Source: H&R Block

How Do Florida Property Taxes Compare to Other States?

In 2020, Florida ranked 26 out of 50 states for property taxes, with 1 having the highest effective rate and 50 having the lowest.

Average Effective Tax Rate by State

State Average Effective Tax Rate
New Jersey 2.21%
Illinois 2.05%
New Hampshire 1.96%
Vermont 1.82%
Connecticut 1.76%
Texas 1.66%
Wisconsin 1.63%
Nebraska 1.61%
Ohio 1.58%
Iowa 1.50%
Pennsylvania 1.49%
Rhode Island 1.43%
Michigan 1.38%
New York 1.38%
Kansas 1.32%
Maine 1.25%
South Dakota 1.18%
Massachusetts 1.14%
Minnesota 1.10%
Maryland 1.04%
Alaska 1.02%
Missouri 0.99%
North Dakota 0.95%
Oregon 0.94%
Florida 0.91%
Georgia 0.91%
Oklahoma 0.88%
Washington 0.88%
Virginia 0.87%
Indiana 0.84%
Kentucky 0.82%
North Carolina 0.82%
Montana 0.75%
California 0.73%
Idaho 0.70%
Tennessee 0.68%
New Mexico 0.66%
Arizona 0.65%
Mississippi 0.65%
Arkansas 0.64%
District of Columbia 0.61%
Nevada 0.60%
Delaware 0.59%
Utah 0.59%
South Carolina 0.56%
Wyoming 0.56%
West Virginia 0.55%
Colorado 0.54%
Louisiana 0.54%
Alabama 0.39%
Hawaii 0.31%

Source: taxfoundation.org

Ways to Lower Your Property Taxes in Florida

Fortunately for Florida homeowners, there are a few ways that you can save on your property tax bill each year.

Pay Your Property Taxes Early

Florida offers discounts when you pay your property tax bill early. The discounts apply regardless of which county in Florida you live in. The earliest you can pay your tax bill is November 1 of the tax year and the latest you can pay without being late is March 31 of the year after the tax year.

  • Pay in November: 4% discount
  • Pay in December: 3% discount
  • Pay in January: 2% discount
  • Pay in February: 1% discount

For example, if you own a house in Palm Beach with a tax-assessed value of $300,000, your property tax bill should be around $3,360 based on the county’s average 1.12 percent property tax rate. By paying early, you can save as much as $134.40.

Month Paid Property Tax Amount Owed After Discount Amount Saved
November $3,225.60 $134.40
December $3,259.20 $100.80
January $3,292.80 $67.20
February $3,326.40 $33.60

Apply for a Homestead Exemption

Many Florida homeowners qualify for a homestead exemption. The Florida homestead exemption reduces the taxable value of your home by up to $50,000. How much you can save depends on the home’s assessed value and the property tax rate where you live.

For example, if you are approved for a homestead exemption on your home that has a $200,000 tax-assessed value, $25,000 would be exempt from all property taxes and $25,000 would be exempt from all non-school property taxes.

To qualify for the homestead exemption, the property, and the owner must meet specific requirements. We go over these in detail in our complete guide to homestead exemptions in Florida.

Apply for Other Exemptions in Your County

If you qualify for the homestead exemption, you might be able to apply for another exemption and reduce your property taxes even further. How much you can reduce your home’s taxable value depends on what programs you qualify for and what county you live in. Visit your county’s property appraiser’s office for more information about specific eligibility requirements and exemption amounts.

Property Tax Benefits for Active Duty Military and Veterans

  • Disabled Veteran Exemption
  • Veterans 65 or Older with Combat-Related Disabilities
  • Active Duty Military Exemption
  • Surviving Spouse of Military Veteran who Died in the Line of Duty Exemption

Property Tax Benefits For Persons 65 or Older

  • Limited Income Senior Citizen Exemption for Persons 65 and Older

Other Available Property Tax Benefits

  • Widow & Widowers Exemption
  • Qualifying Civilian Disability Exemption
  • Surviving Spouse of a First Responder Who Died in the Line of Duty Exemption
  • Living Quarters of Parents or Grandparents Exemption

Appeal Your Home’s Value

A property appraiser in your county determines the value of your property for tax purposes. If you disagree with their assessment, you can appeal your home’s value. You can appeal by taking any of, some of, or all of the following actions:

  1. Discuss the assessment with the property appraiser’s office
  2. File a petition with the county value adjustment board (VAB)
  3. File a lawsuit in circuit court

Appealing may result in your home being appraised at a lower value. In turn, this would lower the amount of property taxes that you owe. Only a small percentage of Florida homeowners appeal their property taxes, but the majority that appeal are successful.

Visit the Florida Department of Revenue’s website to learn more specifics about appealing Florida property taxes.

Who Do I Contact About My Property Taxes in Florida?

If you have questions about your property taxes, contact your county property appraiser’s office. They can answer questions about your home’s assessed value, help you make payments, and help you apply for exemptions. The Florida Department of Revenue provides a simple tool to help you locate the website for your county’s property appraiser.

If you live in Palm Beach County, you can contact the Palm Beach County appraiser by phone at 561-355-3230.

Speak with a realtor

Looking for help buying or selling a home?

  • Get advice on buying a home
  • Get top value when selling your home

    Out side us

    Also include Communities with Similar Homes